Caden’s Birth Story

**Warning: Long post**

It all started when I went in for a doctor’s visit on Caden’s due date. My doctor had told me that if my blood pressure was high (dangerous for mom and baby) that she would be inducing me that night. It ended up being high and she told me that she wanted me to go directly to the hospital.
DP left work and met me at the hospital. They began inducing me that evening at 6pm. I began having my contractions around 4am and labored for about 11 hours. We were all hoping that I would be dilated enough to give birth naturally but unfortunately the baby’s heart beat kept dropping and the doctor didn’t think I was progressing fast enough. The doctor told me that it would be best to have a c-section. When they pulled Caden out, they found that he was face up which would have made it nearly impossible for me to deliver naturally. I was so thankful for God’s grace in giving the doctor’s wisdom to make the right decision.

I wish the story ended here but unfortunately there were complications to come. After the c-section, I was sent to the recovery room as normal procedure. We were set up to rest and enjoy the baby. Though I was still recovering from the pain, things seemed to be going well for the next couple days. We even had several visitors. However, two night before I was supposed to be discharged, the nurse did a routine blood pressure check on me and was alarmed at how high it was. She had some blood work done on me and it came out abnormal so they rushed me back to labor and delivery. I was hooked back up to an IV where they injected me with magnesium sulfate which is s a muscle suppressant. Apparently, my hypertension put me in danger of having a seizure or stroke. They also put me on labetalol which was supposed to lower my blood pressure. They also did an EKG on me and had me hooked up to a heart rate monitor. Honestly, this was one the the scariest moments of my life.
What really frightened me the most was the fact that my mom also had high blood pressure and she passed away from a brain aneurysm. I told my doctor of this fact and he decided he wanted me to have an MRA right away to check my brain.

During this time, I was so frightened to the point that I began meditating on Psalm 23. I had no idea what was going to happen to me and I was overwhelmed with anxiety and fear. It took all I had to shepherd my heart and remind myself that God was in control over my life and my health. I kept asking DP to pray for us because I couldn’t think of anything else that we could do. I never appreciated my husband so much as I did during this time. Because I couldn’t even get up from my bed, he had to do everything for me and the baby. We ended up having to put Caden in the nursery because I could not nurse him. This broke our hearts, especially DP’s to be separated from our newborn baby. We cried together and prayed for God’s grace and strength. I really believe that God strengthened our love and knit our hearts closer together during this time.

Well, God was so good and allowed my MRA results to come back normal. He also began lowering and stabilizing my blood pressure with the medication. They continued to monitor me and I was able to be discharged on Tuesday morning, 6 days after I had been admitted to the hospital.

I am now at home but I am still on the blood pressure medication. I was ordered by my doctor to do nothing but rest, not even breastfeed. We bought a blood pressure monitor to keep track of how I’m doing at home. Honestly, it’s still a daily battle for me to not be anxious because my blood pressure continues to be on the high side. I have to keep reminding myself that God is in control over every aspect of my life, including my health. I know that He sovereignly ordained all these things to happen to me and that nothing is outside of His will. When I remember these things it helps to calm my heart. It’s been really humbling to see how I don’t have any real control over my life and how dependent I am on the Lord. I had no control over when Caden was going to be born, how he was going to be born, or how I would take care of him. I was so confident that I was going to nurse him but God had to show me that it not going to be my way but His way. I had lofty plans to be a great mom that did everything to take care of my son, but I’ve been forced do almost nothing and hand over these responsibilities to my husband. I am incredibly humbled yet thankful for God’s reminder that His ways are higher than my own. I need to cling to Him for my every need, remembering that He knows me and loves me.

Though this process was so difficult there is so much to praise God for. I praise Him for teaching me to depend on Him and not myself in every situation. I praise Him for providing me with a godly, loving husband who serves our family so selflessly. I praise Him for the love and care we have received from so many loving friends and family members. And I praise Him for the precious gift of our son whom we love and adore.

0 Responses to “Caden’s Birth Story”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

