Mom’s 4 Year Memorial

It’s hard to believe but it’s already been 4 years since my mom passed away.  She passed away on April 21, 2006.  I can still vividly remember that day like it was yesterday.  Can’t believe that since then, I’ve gotten married and now have a 6 month old son.  It hasn’t been until just recently that I’ve  been able to think more freely about my mom.  For the past 4 years I hadn’t let myself dwell on memories of her because it was just too hard.  Whenever I began thinking about her I would force myself to stop, otherwise I would be overcome with feelings of sadness and pity.  I have hope that my mom is with the Lord and I totally trust in the Lord’s sovereignty.  At the same time I still have to battle my human emotions.  The good news is that I am slowly able to think about her with less sadness and more joy and thankfulness.  She was such an amazing mom and I don’t want to forget all the wonderful memories I have of her.  One thing I wish is that my mom could have lived long enough to see Caden.  I know that she would have adored him and I’m sure he would have loved his halmunee (grandmother).  It’s been neat to be able to show Caden pictures of his grandma and just talk to him about her.

My brother, Caden, and I were able to go visit my mom for her 4 year anniversary.  I’m thankful because taking Caden with us has definitely lightened the mood.  In the past I never said anything whenever I went to visit her but this time I found myself talking to my mom about Caden.  It makes me look forward to visiting her more often to just talk to her and share about what is going on in my life.

Happy to visit Grandma.

I love you and miss you so much Mom.

7 Responses to “Mom’s 4 Year Memorial”


  1. 1 cathie hong April 24, 2010 at 4:50 am

    aw susie, this was such a sweet & personal post… so glad that you can talk to your mom about caden now — it is so precious to see pictures of that!

  2. 2 Sharon April 24, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    sooz, i totally share your grief, emotions, and thoughts. your mom was definitely such an amazing woman! i miss her, too. so happy you got to visit her with jason and caden!

  3. 3 Monica April 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    a beautiful tribute to your mom. so encouraged by you …

  4. 4 miriam April 25, 2010 at 5:46 am

    such a sweet post unnie! thanks for sharing ur heart!

  5. 5 Sue April 26, 2010 at 3:19 am

    Susie, what a beautiful post! Thanks so much for sharing so vulnerably and for posting those sweet, sweet pictures. So thankful for how the Lord has sustained your family these past 4 years.

  6. 6 thekimfam April 26, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    thanks for sharing these special pictures and moments with us. i am so encouraged by your example!

  7. 7 jules April 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    That was a very sweet post, Suz! I’m SURE your mom would have LOVED LOVED LOVED him and there would have been so many funny moments together. Praise God for the time you had with her.


Leave a Reply

