On the Move

This title is referring to two things actually.  First, our family finally made the move from the South Bay to the OC.  We moved into our new place in Tustin Ranch this past Thursday.  We’re still settling in but so far it’s been a pretty smooth transition.  Unfortunately, DP had to leave for a business trip a couple days after the move so it’s been just me and Caden at our new home.  Honestly, at first it was difficult for me to be truly joyful and content with the move.  I found myself grumbling and complaining both outwardly and in my heart about so many little things (I’ll spare you the details).  By God’s grace, He revealed to me how sinful and ungrateful I was being and reminded me of ALL that I should be thankful for instead.  What a blessing it is to have a cozy place to call home in such a wonderful neighborhood.  I’m thankful to be so much closer to DP’s work, thankful to be near so many dear brothers and sisters, thankful to have a washer/dryer in the unit, thankful to be close to all my favorite stores….  When I focus my mind to think about my blessings, I am overwhelmed with gratitude to the Lord for His goodness.  I pray that God will continue to help me to discipline myself to dwell upon what is good and true.

In addition to our move, this title is in reference to our little Caden who has been “on the move” for quite some time now.  He began take steps to crawl when he was 7 months old.  He turned 8 months just a week ago and now he’s crawling speedily all over the place.  Not only is he crawling, he’s pulling himself up on every piece of furniture he can find.  Every day I find bruises and red marks all over his face from his many bumps and falls.  Do the falls discourage him to slow down at all?  No way.  He keeps going and going and going…. Though I want to protect him and keep him away from everything, I know that he is a boy and that it’s natural for him to be curious about the world around him.

Here’s Caden at 7 months, beginning to crawl.

Somebody’s happy to be crawling.

One day I went to get him and found him standing up in his crib.

Sometimes I would take a little too long to get him and he’d look like this.

Here we are in Caden’s new room.

He pulled himself up on the dresser knobs.

Uh-oh, should I not be doing this?

Hmmm,  what’s inside here?

If this is not a mischievous look, then I don’t know what is.

6 Responses to “On the Move”


  1. 1 rosie June 30, 2010 at 4:13 am

    haha it’s like his own mini indoor mountain-climbing set-up! thanks for sharing about all you’re learning through the move…let us know if there’s anything we can do to help during the transition! golden spoon??? 🙂

  2. 2 Sue June 30, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    thanks for sharing, susie. i’m sure it can be a difficult transition, but we sure are glad to have you guys close by. LOVE that mischievous look on caden! and those pics of him standing are too cute.

  3. 3 cathie hong June 30, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    i love him — why is he so cute?? i wanna see your new place, susie — can we hang out?

  4. 4 miriam June 30, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Yay ur in the hood! lets go get some goldenspoon! =)

  5. 5 Rachel July 1, 2010 at 3:04 am

    love the pictures of Caden! we’re missing you in south bay already – but glad that the Lord is teaching you so much and giving you a thankful heart. you’re going to love being in oc and tusin is great! 🙂

  6. 6 Jelinas July 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Caden, you cutie, you!! I’ve missed you!!!


Leave a Reply

