Happy 1st Birthday Caden!

I can’t believe that Caden has already turned 1!  His first year went by so fast.  I still remember holding him for the first time in the hospital.  He was so tiny and precious and now he’s a big boy running and banging into all kinds of things.   He’s pointing to anything and everything, downing his whole milk, and taking big bites out of all of Mommy’s food.  🙂  He is so much fun and I just can’t seem to stop kissing him even though he’s not a little baby anymore.

He is truly an undeserved gift from God and DP and I are so thankful for him.  I know that God’s grace has kept him safe and healthy this year.  I pray that God would continue to show him grace and mercy and that Caden would come to know and treasure Christ one day.  I know that it’s so easy to love and cherish the gift rather than the giver.  I pray that God would help me to love Christ more than Caden.  I need to remember that the greatest way that I can love Caden is by walking humbly and faithfully with the Lord.  My prayer and heart’s desire is that Caden would see me loving Christ more than anything else.  Being the wretched sinner I am, I know that this is so hard to do.  I know I need to depend on Christ, keeping my eyes fixed on the cross, seeing His beauty.  May God grant me grace to be a God-fearing, gospel-centered mommy for Caden.

Caden Daniel Pyo, born on October 23, 2009

We went from looking like this 1 year ago

To this on his first birthday!

The morning of his birthday- somebody’s more excited about the wrapping paper than the gift.

No, he’s excited about the gift too!

Caden’s birthday party-it was truly a labor of love.  Special shout out to Connie and Rosie who helped with all the special details.

Birthday boy with Grandpa Kim.

Family pic, nice smile Caden!  🙂

Pyo family-funny how both Daddy and son have their eyes closed.

Caden in his traditional Korean outfit, borrowed from his buddy Caleb.

Waiting to see what Caden picks for the Korean dolgabi event.

Out of everything he choose the money.  Funny kid.

Singing happy birthday.  We loved how Caden started clapping for himself.

Happy birthday kiddo!  We love you!

5 Responses to “Happy 1st Birthday Caden!”


  1. 1 jules October 26, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    What a fun, sweet, special birthday he had, he has many many people that love him, what a blessed little boy! LOVE the pics with mommy, so precious!

  2. 2 Rachel October 26, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Soo sweet! Sad I missed his big day! I love the suit & tie! Happy 1st Bday Caden!

  3. 3 bee October 26, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    what a sweet post, sooz! love your little guy, he’s such a cutie and already hammin’ it up! 🙂

  4. 4 xmlx October 27, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    sooooooo cute!

  5. 5 Birgit October 28, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Love all the photo’s Susie, and I was sharing with Daniel that you would make Martha Stewart proud with your dessert table – gorgeous! Caden is so adorable and obviously much loved 🙂 May the coming year be extra good to him, and may God continue to bless you all. Happy Birthday Caden!


Leave a Reply

