Colin Pyo is Here!

Colin Matthew Pyo entered this world on September 20, 2011 at 3:11pm.  He weighed 8 pounds 1 ounce and was 20.25 inches long.  Here is his birth story…

I went in for my 40 week doctor’s appointment on Monday morning.  My doctor decided to strip my membrane since my due date was only 1 day away.  That night, I started having REAL contractions around 10:30 pm that were about 30 minutes apart.  I knew these were real because I had been having braxton hicks contractions for a long time and these felt VERY different and VERY painful.  Around 1am the contractions started to get closer together, around 9 minutes apart.  Then around 4 in the morning the contractions were getting closer, like 6-7 minutes apart.  That’s when we decided to call the doctor and sure enough, he told me to head over to the hospital.  We called our brother in law Joe to come over to watch Caden and we left for the hospital around 5am.  Seriously, the ride to the hospital was one of the most painful experiences I’ve ever had.  The contractions were coming every 5 minutes and each one knocked the breath out of me.

Once I got to the hospital, I was hooked up to the IV and they gave me some medication to ease some of my pain before I got the epidural.  It definitely helped but it also made me extremely drowsy and lethargic.  A couple hours later I got the epidural and the pain was gone, but again I felt soooo tired.  At around 1 in the afternoon, the nurse announced that I was 10 cm dilated and that I would have to start pushing soon.  Seriously, labor was the hardest physical thing I’ve ever done.  I had a c-section with Caden and I kept thinking and wishing that I had just done the same for Colin.  I remember having to push but having absolutely no energy to do so.  I would push as hard as I could and as soon as it was time to rest, I would just fall asleep and then wake up again for the next push.  Finally, about an hour and a half later, the doctor came in because the baby was crowning.  DP tells me that the doctor coming in must have motivated me somehow because he said I pushed harder than ever.  I finally delivered Colin at 3:11 pm, after several more intense pushes.  Boy, was I happy to see Colin’s chubby little face.  It’s seriously amazing how quickly you forget the pain after you see and hold the precious baby you’ve been carrying for 9 months.  I kept thinking during the labor that I never wanted to do this again, but after seeing Colin, I MAY try it again.  🙂  We’ll see…  Here are some pics of our newest baby boy.

Welcome to the world Colin!

Aunties and London came to visit!Here’s Colin’s homecoming picture.

Colin being held by his big brother Caden.  

My three boys.  

A mini photo session at home. 

5 Responses to “Colin Pyo is Here!”


  1. 1 ml October 4, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Adorable!!! Can’t wait to meet him!

  2. 2 cathie October 4, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    yay, a post! great job, sooz — he’s beautiful. love the picture of caden kissing colin — too precious!

  3. 3 Sue October 5, 2011 at 1:18 am

    He’s so so so cute, he’s killing me! Can’t wait to see you in person! I think your MOW filled up before I could sign on so let me bring over a meal when it’s over?

  4. 4 amanda October 5, 2011 at 2:59 am

    LOVE your boys!! anderson can’t way to have a playdate with colin hehe! : )

  5. 5 jules October 11, 2011 at 2:07 am

    SOOOO cute! Loved this post, don’t know why it didn’t show up on my reader! Can’t wait til we can all meet!


Leave a Reply

