Caden – 2 years 3 months

Special Talents

ABCs- Caden is still totally into his abcs. He’s got the letters, sounds, and song down. I think he might know them better than me. He can also sing most of the abc song in spanish. He’s now beginning to sound out words in books and form words with his magnetic letters. It’s funny though because he’ll put letters together like qat and oap and ask “what’s that?”

Helping Mommy- he’s been such a good helper these days. He loves finding trash and throwing things in the trash can for me. I’ll ask him to get stuff for me like colin’s burp cloth or put stuff away like colin’s sleep sack and he does it happily. He’ll say, “Otay (okay) mommy.” Then I’ll thank him after he does it and he says “you’re welcome mommy, you’re welcome.”. Love him!!

Negotiating- we’ll tell him it’s time for storytime and ask him to pick out some books. He’ll say 20 books? We’ll tell him no, 5 books. Then he’ll say “how bout 9 books?” He does the same thing with snacks! He’ll ask for 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 cookies, I’ll tell him no, 1 cookie and then he’ll say, “how bout 3 cookies?” Then I usually say okay. I’m such a sucker!!

Sleep

Ah, he used to be such a good sleeper. Seriously, he would take 3 hour naps and sleep 12 hours at night without a peep. I don’t know what happened but after he turned 2 sleep has been a bit of a battle. Caden went through a phase where he would cry and scream after we put him down and left the room for the night. Now we take our time putting him down and we stay until he falls asleep or leave his door open a little which comforts him. The other issue we’re having is that he’s been waking up several times in the middle of the night. I have to come to his room and tell him to lay down which he does immediately. I usually end up just sleeping on his toddler bed until I wake up and go back to his room. I’ve heard from several moms that it’s common for kids to go through this at his age. One mom told me it lasted over a year with her son. Nooooo!!!!

Likes

T.V. – I’m sure this is not surprising but my son loves tv. His favorite shows right now are The Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Super Why. I know tv gets a bad rap but all I know is that I am sooo thankful for it. Caden’s learned a ton from it and all the shows he watches are very educational and mom (me) approved. There are set times that I allow him to watch it and I must say that those are happy times for both me and him. 🙂

ABCs- see above

Dislikes

Taking pictures- he is soooo over taking pictures. He used to be good about looking at the camera but I think I’ve tortured him with too much picture taking. Now he constantly avoids looking at the camera and tells me, “no cheese!”

Sleep- see above.

Again like Colin, there’s so much more I can write about but I’ll stop here for now. Hopefully my next post will be about how much better he’s sleeping. 🙂

20120208-200603.jpg

20120208-200626.jpg

20120208-200650.jpg

20120208-200716.jpg

20120208-200734.jpg

20120208-200806.jpg

3 Responses to “Caden – 2 years 3 months”


  1. 1 cathie hong February 9, 2012 at 5:49 am

    he is such a cutie! i hope for your sake that he starts sleeping better again soon too!!!

  2. 2 Jane February 9, 2012 at 6:13 am

    Yay loving your updates. I say the abc loving comes from mommy and the negotiating comes from daddy ;). Hope the sleep gets better!!!

  3. 3 jules February 10, 2012 at 3:27 am

    AHHHH, he sounds like a cutie patootie!!!


Leave a Reply

